20 December 2008

UGANDA : Ambassador’s award KCC Leopards

by Sande Bashaija

Komakech voted 2008 MVP

Overall MVPs
Men: Ben Komakech (Power)
Women: Flavia Oketcho (UCU)
Div 2: Collin Mukiza (Riders)
Div 3: Romunas Mwamba

Regular season MVPs
Men: Ronnie Kasewu (Warriors)
Women: Olivia Mulwana (A-1)
Div 2: Ssali Donald (Ndejje)
Div 3: Emma Atenga (Livingstone)

Top scorers
Men: Boniface Okello (Marines)
Women: Hellen Nakijo (Cubs)
Div 2: Felix Olaba (Heaters)
Div 3: Abel Emwodu (Livingstone)

Most defensive teams
Men: Warriors
Women: UCU
Div 2: Riders
Div 3: UCU JV

Most disciplined teams
St Michael
KIU Rangers

Most improved teams
Ndejje University
UCU Lady Canons

Most promising players
Miraim Tamale (Nabisunsa)
Phillip Sendegeye
Keith Asaba
Emma Enabu

Sadolin Power point guard Ben Komakech beat teammates Isaac Afidra and Joseph Ikong to become the 2008 MTN-Fuba League most valuable player. Komakech received his accolade at the annual Fuba awards ceremony held Friday night at Oasis Restaurant, Lugogo.

“This is a great moment for me. I joined Power this year and was just trying to fit in the team. I never thought I would be MVP,” Komakech, who switched from Miracle Eagles, said. Lady Canons star Flavia Oketcho was voted MVP in the women’s category, beating teammates Frances Nabulobi and Brenda Mbone.

It’s the second time Oketcho, a cousin sister to the late Wilbrod Okecho aka Ox, is taking the accolade. “Ox is the one who told me I could be a great player. I want to thank everybody and although Ox is gone, this league still runs with the Okecho blood,” Oketcho the 2005 MVP, said. The mood changed from cheerful to solemn as speaker after speaker called for a moment of silence in memory of former Power player Okecho, who died in May as a result of bullet wounds.

Many couldn’t control their tears when Jackie Chemisto, the bereaved wife, stood before a fully packed Oasis to read a poem in remembrance of Okecho’s life. Power, who defeated record winners Falcons and UCU Lady Canons, conquerors of A-1 Challenge, were crowned and given cheques of Shs2m each from sponsors MTN.

Surprisingly, Boniface Okello (Marines) and Hellen Nakijo (Makerere Cubs), whose teams never made the play-offs, emerged top scorers in the men’s and women’s divisions respectively.

Although her team lost the final, Olivia Mulwana (A-1 Challenge) deservedly won the women’s regular MVP award while Ronnie Kasewu emerged best in the men’s category.

Livingstone’s Abel Emwodu, who scored a record 58 points in one game, emerged top scorer in Third Division while Felix Olaba (Youth Heaters) took the award in Second Division.

Third Division champions St Michael were the men’s most disciplined team alongside KIU Rangers in the women’s category.

The most improved team award went to Ndejje University in the men’s category and UCU Lady Canons (women).

Comments: Post a Comment

<< Home

This page is powered by Blogger. Isn't yours?